gs insurance help!

Compare and discuss insurance quotes here (Registered users only)

Moderator: Moderators

gs insurance help!

Postby kenkeo » Wed May 16, 2007 1:27 am

can any one please help me on the insurance issue on a gs import.i am new to importing but quinn direct say they wont insure me on an import but will insur me on a gs im confused. isnt the de2a gs the same as any other gs. arent majority of gs's imports anyway
kenkeo
FTO nut!
FTO nut!

Postby johnny » Wed May 16, 2007 7:27 am

All gs's are imports.

Im not sure about Quinn....but when i was getting insurance on my GPX Hibernian told me that all FTOs are considered the same for insurance...in other words I could insure a GPX for the same price as a GS..

If Quinn are the same (lads??) then ur better off getting a GPX...bearing in mind you'll have dearer tax and running costs...but well worth it in my opinion....the difference between a GS and GPX is huge! (~125hp vs. ~200hp!!!)
johnny
FTO nut!
FTO nut!

Postby kevinod » Wed May 16, 2007 7:32 am

When I imported I checked the insurance costs and found it wasn't much extra at all for a GR/GPX rather than a GS. There is a few quid savings to be made on road tax, and VRT but again, not a lot.
Steel Silver manual GR (95 C)
kevinod

Postby soc » Wed May 16, 2007 12:36 pm

I had a GS initially because I assume it would be cheaper insurance - how stupid was I..... as soon as I realised there was no difference I sold th GS and got myself a GR. I don't think Quinn Direct distinguish between the models (as bizarre as it sounds!!!)
soc
Forever Ticking Over
Forever Ticking Over

Postby CJ » Wed May 16, 2007 2:11 pm

soc wrote: as soon as I realised there was no difference I sold th GS and got myself a GR

Ditto re swapping the GS for a GPX, you learn the hard way!

CJ
CJ
Site Admin
Site Admin

gs

Postby kenkeo » Wed May 16, 2007 3:11 pm