Smart broadband

A forum for IT related questions

Moderator: Moderators

Smart broadband

Postby karlf » Tue Oct 03, 2006 11:31 pm

Got smart in there a few weeks back and having nothing but trouble with it. Its one of those pay €35 euro a month and use as much as you want deals. The problem is every other day it wont work for hours at a time. I rang the tech support and all they say is that because i have an extension cable from the point in the hall running up to a bed room(15m at most) that this is causing a problem. Sounds like a load of crap to me. Cant understand how it works 9/10 times i try to connect. Surely if it was because of the cable length it wouldn't work at all. I'm no expert on this but I've done similar things before (in work) and never had this problem. Seems to be only at what you would call peak times it happens, or after a day of high usage of the service and weekends (when you can't ring them as they only open monday to friday. Anyone had any similar problems???
karlf
I'm addicted to my FTO
I'm addicted to my FTO

Postby ikeane » Wed Oct 04, 2006 6:56 am

I've had my fair share of probs with broadband providers but I'm just after joining Chorus and they've been good to me so far.

I'd eliminate their suggestion first. Bring your comp down to the socket and use a short cable to connect. After that ring up tech support and get straight on to a manager (this prob wont be easy) and give em hell. Dont be afraid to bring up the 'Director of Consumer Affairs' in your ranting as you're not getting what you paid for. Its probable that there's something in the contract you signed to cover Smart in this eventuality but if you nag them enough....
btw I find unless your talking to a manager/supervisor there's not much they can do.

On the other hand you could just get someone who's nice and fix the prob straight away, sheer luck
ikeane
FTO is my life
FTO is my life

Postby CJ » Wed Oct 04, 2006 7:34 am

You're onto a winner with Smart anyway! ;)