is this normal?

Technical questions and discussion

Moderator: Moderators

is this normal?

Postby akay47 » Fri Oct 10, 2014 8:06 pm

Hi guys I'm new to the fto scene and want to find out is it normal when changing gear in auto the revs are seem high?. Mine revs @ 2500rpm before changing gear. It's like people might be thinking that ur racing down the street in 1st revving the he'll out before changing gear. As I said I'm new and still learning.
akay47
Unleaded
Unleaded

Re: is this normal?

Postby gazmcg89 » Fri Oct 10, 2014 8:41 pm

It changes gear depending on your throttle input if that makes sense if you gas hard it changes later . 2.5 k revs is probably about optimum without killing revs in the next gear will check in mine tomorrow for you
gazmcg89
Octane king
Octane king

Postby akay47 » Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:13 pm

Ok mate cheers. Mybe it's just mine and the previous owner might of tweaked it and mucked it up I don't know. Say I'm at a round about and want to pull off quick it's like I have to wait till it reaches 2500rpm just to change into 2nd and of course of the muffler at the back we'll it's just screaming to change gear. Might have to reset ecu so mybe 1st and 2nd is quicker and a bit quieter.
akay47
Unleaded
Unleaded

Postby goz_83 » Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:09 am

Disconnect the battery for 15 minutes to do a reset. Then drive normally in tip mode (manually selecting gears) for a while and the car will learn your driving style when going back to full auto.

Although gear changing at 2500 rpm does not sound unusual to me. It should idle at 800rpm. The fto loves to redline, so I wouldn't worry much.
97 Manual GPX. Icecelle Blue.
Other Stuff: Induction kit. Front Strut. Apex Lowered. 17" Kahns. Quad exhaust. HID lights. Glow dials and rings/cups. Black leather seats. Window tints. Sunroof.
goz_83
Forever Ticking Over
Forever Ticking Over

Postby gazmcg89 » Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:33 pm

Mine was shifting earlier about 2.5 k revs driving easy
gazmcg89
Octane king