Student with an FTO

Say hello to other forum members

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
Please familiarise yourself with the forum rules before posting!

Student with an FTO

Postby springheel » Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:58 pm

Hows it going lads?

My name is Bryan. I'm a 22 year old student in Dublin.
After spending a lot of time in work falling in love with FTO's (it's easy done isn't it?) I decided to take some of my hard earned cash and treat myself to a 95 GR with 81,000 miles on the clock. Regrettably it was something I rushed into. It had NCT until 2011 and the car's bodywork was in immaculate condition and I just loved the feel and handling of the car so I hurriedly bought it thinking I was getting a deal.

I saw no indication in the engine bay that the timing belt had been changed and the guy selling it claimed not to know as he was selling his brother's car as he himself had emigrated. I recently had friends around the house, one of whom works as a car salesman (so would know a tad more about cars than me) and when he looked at it he reckons the timing belt hadnt been changed. The only thing the guy selling it told me was that it need new brake pads which he gave me and a new CB joint. Other than that he reckoned there was 2,00km done on it since the last service and the car was 100% sound.

Eversince I've had this horrible sinking feeling in my stomach that I was had. €1,500 is a trojan amount of money for me especially as I am going into final year in college in a month and I just do not know what to do!! I don't know any mechanic and as I already said I know absolutely nothing about cars. So the car is just sitting parked up as I am too scared to drive it in case anything goes wrong.

Any suggestions as to what to do? Sell it or is it sell-able? Get it completely done over by a mechanic and if so how much do you think this could cost?